Black named T&F Scholar-Athlete, 97 named to NEC Spring Academic Honor Roll

Black named T&F Scholar-Athlete, 97 named to NEC Spring Academic Honor Roll

SMITHFIELD, R.I. – Bryant’s spring was just as successful in the classroom as it was on the playing fields in 2014, as senior runner Eimear Black (Glengormley, Ireland) earned the third Northeast Conference Scholar-Athlete Award of her storied Bulldog career to headline 97 student-athletes named 2014 NEC Spring Academic Honor Roll selections.

Of the 97 who qualified for the NEC Spring Academic Honor Roll – bringing Bryant’s total to 212 for the 2013-14 academic year – 12 were named to the prestigious NEC Commissioner’s Honor Roll, a distinction reserved for student-athletes with cumulative GPAs of 3.75 or above. The Bulldogs have seen 32 of their own earn the conference’s highest academic recognition this season.

Black, who has been named to the NEC Commissioner’s Honor Roll all 12 opportunities throughout her career, takes home her first NEC Scholar-Athlete recognition in women’s outdoor track and field after earning the distinction in cross country as both a junior and a senior. Having battled injuries for much of the spring season, Black was in top form at the NEC Championship in May when she won the 10,000 meter run in record-breaking fashion. She outdistanced the field by nearly 45 seconds and sliced over eight seconds off the meet record with a time of 35:56.94 to claim First Team All-NEC honors. Black added Second Team All-NEC accolades by finishing second in the 5,000 meters at the conference meet. A biology major, Black graduated with a near-perfect 3.96 grade point average this May.

Black is one of six members of the Bulldog women’s track & field team to make the NEC Commissioner’s Honor Roll this spring. She is joined by junior Brooke Tomasetti, freshman Rebecca Nunez, and sophomores Staci Rezendes, Brittany Sarza and Jocelyn Davies. The six remaining qualifiers each came from different sports and included a quartet of rookies in Joseph Paparelli (baseball), Kyle Mummau (men’s lacrosse), Alexander Evans (men’s track and field) and Olivia DeRogatis (women’s lacrosse). Women’s tennis senior Jessica May Vickers and men’s tennis sophomore Max Vogt rounded out the 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll honorees for the Black and Gold.

Men’s track & field leads the pack for NEC Spring Academic Honor Roll members, placing 19 on the list. Softball was right behind with 14, while both men’s lacrosse and women’s track and field put 12 on the roll call. Nine players from both men’s tennis and baseball made the grade, with eight more coming from women’s lacrosse and women’s tennis. Six golfers were also named to the honor roll.
The NEC Academic Honor Roll consists of student-athletes who have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or above, with 800 spring student-athletes conference-wide qualifying for the distinction in 2014. Of those student-athletes, 192 were named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll.
Below is the full list of Bryant's 97 spring student-athletes named to the NEC Academic Honor Roll:


Arturo Cruz (Management)

Daniel Donohue (Undeclared)

Nicholas Douglas (Financial Services)

Alexander Evans (Undeclared)

Blake Fenwick (Marketing)

Ryan Gannon (Undeclared)

Jacob Gesin (Finance)

Louis Graziano (Undeclared)

Benjamin Jackson (Undeclared)

Zachary LaClair (Accounting)

Thomas Mullally (Applied Economics)

Toren O’Leary (International Business Marketing)

Ademitokunbo Oremule (Management)

Joseph Schwab (Finance)

Antonio Siracusa (Undeclared)

Adam Smith (Undeclared)

Russell Stevens (Marketing)

Nicholas Todman (Accounting)

Hayes Watson (Undeclared)



Taylor Bell (Actuarial Mathematics)

Kristen Carter (Communications)

Kendall Corder (Marketing)

Lauren Guy (Entrepreneurship)

Aubrey Mable (Communications)

Jessica Benacquista (Applied Psychology)

Madeline Velasquez (Accounting)

Mollie Anderson (Communications)

Kaitlin Saunders (Marketing)

Hayley Bottino (Applied Psychology)

Taylor Burger (Undeclared)

Haylee Haas (Undeclared)

Lauren Keast (Applied Psychology)

Alexandra Page (Undeclared)



Eimear Black (Biology)

Jocelyn Davies (Management)

Amelia Eppard (Undeclared)

Lauren Ganim (Marketing)

Rebecca Goulet-Martel (Undeclared)

Emily McNeil (Marketing)

Rebecca Nunez (Undeclared)

Staci Rezendes (Finance)

Brittany Sarza (Actuarial Math)

Brooke Tomasetti (Marketing)

Annmarie Tuxbury (Applied Mathematics & Statistics)

Kara Walsh (Finance)



Niko Dutra (Accounting)

Matt MacGrotty (Finance)

Bo Redpath (Finance)

Dan Sipperly (Global Supply Chain Management)

Kevin Maiorano (Accounting)

Brett Baker (Finance)

Spencer Herman (Undeclared)

Kenny Massa (Undeclared)

Kyle Mummau (Undeclared)

JK Poirier (MBA)

Chaz South (Undeclared)

Sam Walsh (Undeclared)



Ernesto Arguello (Accounting)

Adbullah Al Abdulmohsen (Entrepreneurship)

Zachary Morris (International Business Finance)

Phillip Kim (International Business Finance)

Guillaume Sabourin (Economics: International Politics)

Max Vogt (Undeclared)

Alexander Ellwanger (Finance)

Joe Sterrey (Undeclared)

Nick Konsler Lamart (Undeclared)



Daniel St. George (Finance)

Jordan Mountford (Financial Services)

Michael Lanza (Finance)

Mark Martin (Undeclared)

Alex Pantani (Accounting)

Matt Albanese (Undeclared)

Brandon Bingel (Undeclared)

Vaughn Hayward (MBA)

Joseph Paparelli (Undeclared)



Lindsay Langella (Politics & Law)

Olivia McCarthy (Biology)

Brianna Watt (Actuarial Mathematics)

Nicole Britton (Marketing)

Olivia Brooks (Undeclared)

Emily Columbus (Undeclared)

Carly Cronin (Undeclared)

Olivia DeRogatis (Undeclared)



Stephanie Smyers (Actuarial Mathematics)

Jessica May Vickers (Environmental Science)

Jovana Hadzi-Tanovic (International Business Marketing)

Marion Bouillin (Undeclared)

Ryan Brown (Undeclared)

Jacqueline Calamari (Undeclared)

Emily Cardosa (Undeclared)

Jenna LaBarre (Undeclared)



Taylor Hammond (Finance)

Rocco Spizuoco (Finance)

Joe Walp (Finance)

Hayden Maroun (Undeclared)

Sam Russell (Masters of Communications)

McKinley Slade (Undeclared)