Five Bulldogs named All-NEC

Five Bulldogs named All-NEC

SMITHFIELD, R.I. – Led by three-time honoree Jordan Harris (Lincoln University, Pa.), the Bryant University football team placed five members on the All-Northeast Conference first and second teams, the league announced on Wednesday.

Harris, the all-time leading receiver in NEC history, earned his third All-NEC First Team selection, while the defensive line duo of senior Connor McNamara (Sandy Hook, Conn.) and junior Jeff Covitz (Reading, Mass.) also earned first team honors. It is the first honor for McNamara and Covitz's second-straight year on the first team. Senior offensive linemen Charles Argast (Mount Kisko, N.Y.) and Douglas Flink (Auburn, Mass.) earned All-NEC Second Team honors.

The greatest receiver in program history, Harris wrapped up his career with another outstanding campaign. He led the NEC in receiving yards (1,031) and receptions (64), finishing his career with an NEC-record 3,735 yards. In 2013, Harris produced three 100-yard games, including a 10-catch, 163-yard, three-touchdown performance against eventual league champion Sacred Heart. He also caught nine passes for 182 yards on the road at Maine and finished his career with four catches for 48 yards at Central Connecticut. Harris departs Bryant as the all-time leader in career receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns.

A three-year starter on the defensive line, McNamara turned in his best work this past season. He led the team with 73 tackles and added 14 tackles for a loss and 6.5 sacks. McNamara recorded his best game of the season against Sacred Heart, picking up nine tackles and three tackles for a loss. He leaves Bryant 11th all-time in career tackles (154), fifth in tackles for a loss (29.5) and seventh in sacks (14.5).

One of the best defensive players to wear the Black and Gold, Covitz put together another terrific season in 2013. He finished the year with 55 tackles, 20.5 tackles for a loss and 10 sacks. Covitz led the conference in both tackles for a loss and sacks, ranking third and ninth nationally, respectively. Along the way, Covitz became the program's single-season record holder in tackles for a loss and the career leader in the category. Had a stellar performance against Saint Francis, finishing with seven tackles and a program-record tying five tackles for a loss.

Bryant's two second team selections are a pair of classmates that were stalwarts on the offensive line over the past two seasons. Both Argast and Flink appeared and started in every game this season, helping the Bulldogs average 336 yards of offense. Argast saw time at center and at left guard, while Flink was a mainstay at right guard throughout the year. Leading the way, they helped their running backs post six 100-yard games on the year and allowed senior Mike Westerhaus (Farmingville, N.Y.) the time to throw for over 2,000 yards for the second-straight season.

The Bulldogs will hand out their own awards next weekend, Saturday, Dec. 7 when they host their annual Football Awards Banquet. The event is scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m. and tickets are still available to purchase here.