Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Record 136 student-athletes named to the Spring NEC Academic Honor Roll

Photo by: Dave Silverman
Photo by: Dave Silverman

NEC Commissioner's Honor Roll | NEC Academic Honor Roll

SMITHFIELD, R.I. – In what is a fitting end to one of the best academic years for Bryant University at the Division I level, a record 136 student-athletes were named to the Northeast Conference Academic Honor Roll that was announced on Thursday.

The honors come in addition to the announcement of men's tennis redshirt sophomore Matt Kuhar (Smithfield, R.I.) and women's tennis junior Nina Luiggi (Nottingham, England) as Scholar-Athletes for their respective sports. Also, the Bulldogs placed 30 student-athletes on the NEC Commissioner's Honor Roll, setting a new record for the University.

The NEC's Spring Academic Honor Roll consists of 979 student-athletes with a 3.20 or better grade-point average. There were also 227 student-athletes named to the spring Commissioner's Honor Roll, recognizing those superior student-athletes with a 3.75 or better grade point average.

Over the course of the 2016-17 academic year, a total of 2,198 NEC student-athletes landed a spot on the Academic Honor Roll, a 6.5 percent increase from a year ago. That figure also represents approximately half of the NEC's competitors. On the year, a record 592 student-athletes were named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll, an 11.3 percent jump from 2015-16.

Jack Ipsen, Jack Owens and Joe Paparelli (Baseball), William Del Biaggio, Payton Kim and Matthew Stafford (Men's Golf), Jack Callahan, Jacob Fiske, Jacob Jones, Kenny Massa, Kyle Mummau, Joseph Peroni, Chas South and Trevor Weingarten (Men's Lacrosse), Guido Argentini, Artur Jakubowski and Luke Lorenz (Men's Tennis), Alex Evans, Justin Patterson, Brian Salit and Chris Wrenn (Men's Track and Field), Emma Ahlrichs, Kelly Jacobsen and Sloane Sweitzer (Women's Lacrosse), Colby Norris (Softball), Marion Bouillin, Ryan Brown and Nina Luiggi (Women's Tennis) and Rebecca Nunez and Jacklyn Sullivan (Women's Track and Field) rounded out Bryant's 30 NEC Commissioner's Honor Roll selections.

Men's lacrosse led the way with 28 student-athletes listed on the academic honor roll. Women's lacrosse was second with 20 and women's track and field placed 16 on the list. Softball placed 15 on the team, baseball and men's track and field had 14 listed, women's tennis and men's golf each had 10 and men's tennis placed nine on the list.

For a complete list of student-athletes, click here.