Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Three Bulldogs pegged All-MAAC, 11 named All-Academic

Three Bulldogs pegged All-MAAC, 11 named All-Academic

SMITHFIELD, R.I. – Three Bryant University field hockey players were named to Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference All-Conference teams, the conference announced on Thursday. Sophomore back Floor van Dommelen (Berg en Dal, Netherlands) was named First Team All-MAAC, while senior Keighan Richardson (North Attleboro, Mass.) and junior Victoria Newbill (Wilton, Maine) received second-team selections.

van Dommelen and Richardson are being recognized for the second time in as many seasons. Last year, Richardson was named a first-team selection while van Dommelen received a second-team nod. This is Newbill's first selection to an all-conference team.

In 2017, van Dommelen played in and started all 19 games for the Bulldogs. She scored 15 points, scoring five goals and assisting on five others. In the season finale, the sophomore scored a career-high four points, scoring a goal and assisting on two others.

Richardson closed out her career with another solid season, also starting in all 19 games in the Bulldog defense. The North Attleboro, Massachusetts, native collected eight points, all assists, throughout her senior season. In her final collegiate game, Richardson assisted on three goals, tying a career high.

Also starting all 19 games for the Bulldogs, Newbill came out as one of the top attackers in the league in her junior season. The Wilton, Maine, native set career highs in points (8) and assists (4), and was named the MAAC Player of the Week on Sept. 5 after a two-goal, one assist week.

The Bulldogs' three honorees are the tied with the 2016 season for the second-most players recognized in a season since field hockey moved to the MAAC prior to the 2013 campaign. In 2014, Bryant had five players selected.

Additionally, the Bulldogs had 11 members named to the MAAC All-Academic team: Leyna DiMarco (Glastonbury, Conn.), Grace Farrell (Milford, Pa.), Miranda Grundy (Smithfield, R.I.), Clare Luttrell (Freehold, N.J.), Newbill, Emily Perryman (Lebanon, N.H.), Richardson, van Dommelen, Freya Ward (Haywards Heath, West Sussex, England), Bethany Winkin (Winslow, Maine) and Haley Wood (Brownsville, Vt.). Every eligible member of the Bryant field hockey program was named to the All-Academic team.