Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's tennis earns third-straight NEC Team Sportsmanship recognition

Women's tennis earns third-straight NEC Team Sportsmanship recognition

SMITHFIELD, R.I. – Maintaining its tradition of good sportsmanship, the Bryant University women's tennis team received its third-straight Northeast Conference Team Sportsmanship award, following the 2017 spring season.

Instituted by league Presidents in 2008, the awards are designed to acknowledge the team in each conference sport that, in the opinion of its peers, most closely demonstrates good sportsmanship based on the NEC Principles of Sportsmanship and Standards of Conduct.  Voting is conducted at the conclusion of each season by each team and head coach, who rank teams within the conference based on a set of criteria.

The Bulldogs maintained their poise on and off the court as they celebrated yet another successful season, making their fifth-straight NEC Tournament appearance this spring. Bryant earned the two seed in the tournament and were able to move past No. 7 Mount St. Mary's in the quarterfinals, before falling to the 2016 NEC Champion Fairleigh Dickinson in the semifinals. Five Bulldogs were named All-NEC selections, including junior Stefanie Arroyo (Gurabo, Puerto Rico), who earned First Team All-NEC selection at No. 5 singles.

"The Northeast Conference holds the principles of sportsmanship and pursuing victory with honor in the highest regard," said Noreen Morris, NEC Commissioner.  "I applaud our student-athletes, coaches and fans for their commitment in this area, and congratulate those teams honored for their role in promoting the ideals and fundamentals of good sportsmanship."