Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Oropeza named NEC Rookie of the Year; Five earn All-NEC

Larry Levanti Photography
Larry Levanti Photography

SMITHFIELD, R.I. – Bryant University women's tennis freshman Arianna Oropeza (Weston, Fla.) was named the Northeast Conference Rookie of the Year, the league announced on Wednesday afternoon.

Oropeza becomes the second player in Division I program history to earn NEC Rookie of the Year honors (Ashanti Campfield – 2015). She was also one of five Bulldogs to earn All-NEC honors.

Senior Ashanti Campfield (Stratford, Conn.) was named First Team All-NEC in singles and doubles, classmate Stefanie Arroyo (Gurabo, Puerto Rico) was named First Team All-NEC in doubles and Second Team All-NEC in singles and seniors Nina Luiggi (Nottingham, England) and Linnea Sjoberg (Stockholm, Sweden) were named Second Team All-NEC in doubles.

Oropeza enjoyed a fantastic season, going 15-4 overall and 15-3 in dual matches. She finished the year on a nine-match winning streak, posting victories in all three of Bryant's NEC Tournament matches. That included a victory over LIU Brooklyn in the championship round.

Campfield wraps up her career with a double first-team honor. She went 8-10 overall and 7-9 in dual matches as Bryant's primary No. 1 this season. In doubles play, she posted a combined overall record 7-12 in doubles play this season.

Arroyo and Campfield teamed up as Bryant's top doubles team this year, going 6-10 overall. Arroyo finished 7-13 overall in doubles play, while posting a 12-8 overall record in singles. She went 10-6 in dual matches, playing primarily at No. 3 and No. 4. Arroyo finished her career with four-straight victories.

Luiggi and Sjoberg finish their careers with second team doubles honors. The duo finished the year with a 10-5 overall record and a 4-1 mark against league opponents. They finished their careers with six-straight victories.